You might want to archive an entity before Cortex does it automatically, e.g. a service you’re deprecating. This article covers how to archive and unarchive entities manually, individually or in bulk.
Archiving an entity via the Cortex UI
Users with the Archive Entities permission can archive an entity.
-
From the main sidebar, expand Catalogs, then select All entities.
-
Do one of the following:
- Select the All tab to search and filter across all of your organization’s entities.
- Select the Mine tab to search and filter only the entities you own.
- Note that Cortex saves your selection and restores it the next time you open this page.
-
Select the entity you want to archive.
-
From the entity’s details page, click the overflow menu icon.
-
Select Archive entity.
The Confirm entity archival window opens.
-
Click Archive.
The entity is archived.
Unarchiving an entity via the Cortex UI
Users with the Configure Entities permission can unarchive an entity.
-
From the main sidebar, expand Catalogs, then select All entities.
-
Do one of the following:
- Select the All tab to search and filter across all of your organization’s entities.
- Select the Mine tab to search and filter only the entities you own.
- Note that Cortex saves your selection and restores it the next time you open this page.
-
At the top of the list, click Display.
-
Toggle on Show archived.
-
Select the entity from the Entities list.
-
From the entity’s details page, click the overflow menu icon.
-
Select Unarchive entity.
The Confirm entity restoration window opens.
-
Click Restore.
The entity is unarchived and moved back into the Entities list.
Archiving an entity via the Cortex API
Refer to the API documentation on archiving an entity and unarchiving an entity. Last modified on September 21, 2026