Workflows let you automate sequential actions and development processes using contextual data from your workspace. Workflows can be simple, like granting database permissions, or sophisticated, like creating a Jira ticket for an incident detected in Cortex.
Users with the View Workflows permission can view existing Workflows.The Workflows page can be accessed from the main sidebar.In the Workflows tab, view all existing Workflows, including each Workflow’s name and description.From this page, you can edit, duplicate, run, delete, share, or create a Workflow. Click the Overflow menu to view options to edit, duplicate, share, or delete the Workflow”If a Workflow is in draft mode, a draft icon appears next to its name:If a Workflow is managed via GitOps, a Git icon appears next to its name:Click the pin icon to pin any frequently-used Workflows to the top of the page:
Users with the Edit Workflows permission can create and organize Workflow folders.Folders let you group related Workflows so the Workflows page stays organized as your library grows. You can create folders, nest subfolders inside them, and move Workflows between folders.
Folders appear at the top of the Workflows list; click a folder to expand it and view the Workflows inside:
Users with the View Workflow Runs permission can view past Workflow runs.On the Workflows page, select the Runs tab to view runs for each Workflow.Select a run to see more information about it, including its status: In Progress, Paused, Successful, Canceled, or Error. While in the run, click View flowchart in the upper-right corner to view the entire Workflow step-by-step.Filtering and sharingOn the Workflows page, click the Filter icon to narrow your results, or the Share icon to copy a link to the Runs page that you can send to your team.ApprovalsOn the Workflows page, select the Waiting for approval tab to view runs that are awaiting your approval. Note that this tab is only visible if a run is waiting for your approval.Run history and retentionFor auditing and debugging, Cortex stores run history, including the initiator, run context, and the inputs and outputs of each action, for 30 days. Runs from deleted Workflows are not displayed.
Runs triggered through the Workflow Runs API appear on the Runs tab alongside runs started from the UI, marked with a key icon next to the initiator’s name.Runs that failed to initiate via the API appear on the Failures tab. Click View details on a failed entry to see the error. Note that the Failures tab only appears when there are failed runs.
Users with the View Workflows permission can view Scaffolder templates on the Workflows page.On the Workflows page, select the Scaffolders tab to view, edit, or delete registered Scaffolder templates.To preview a Scaffolder template, click the preview icon next to it:To edit a template, click the pencil icon next to it:To create a Workflow that contains a Scaffolder step with a particular template, click the rocket ship icon next to it:To delete a Scaffolder template, click the trash icon next to it: