Skip to main content

Overview

In Cortex, there are four default roles: Viewer, User, Manager, and Admin. While each of these provides access to different Cortex features, you can also create custom roles to give users more granular permissions.

Creating custom roles

How to create a custom role

  1. In Cortex, go to the Roles and permissions settings page.
    1. Click your avatar in the lower left corner, then click Settings.
    2. Under “Authentication and access,” click Roles and permissions.
  2. In the upper right corner, click Create custom role. The "Create custom role" button is on the right side
  3. In the “Create custom role” modal, fill in the basic information:
    • Role name: Enter a name for the role.
    • Identifier: This field is automatically populated based on the role name. It is a unique identifier for the role, made of letters, digits, and hyphens.
    • Description: Optionally, add a description of the role to help others understand its purpose.
    • Settings: Expand each of the Permission sections to view and toggle on/off a permission setting for the role. All permissions are toggled off by default.
  4. Click Create role.

Assign a custom role

You can assign a custom role to a team or user the same way you would assign a default role. See Assigning a role to a user for instructions. It is possible to assign multiple roles to an individual user or team. When multiple roles are assigned, the resulting permissions will be the maximum permissions associated with their assigned role(s). For example, if an individual is assigned two roles with distinct set of permissions, all of those permissions will be applied to that user.

Set a custom role as default for new users

For information on creating or deleting users and setting a default role for new users, see Adding and removing Cortex users.

Delete a custom role

To delete a custom role:
  1. On the Roles and permissions settings page, click the User role tab.
  2. Click the trash icon next to a role.
  3. In the confirmation modal, click Delete.
Note that you cannot delete a custom role if it is associated with a plugin.

Available permissions for custom roles

The table below describes the permission options you can add to a custom role.
Last modified on September 9, 2026